Pittsburgh Steelers – Background, History, Opponents and Schedule

By RayPublished on: February 20, 2024 Updated on: February 23, 2024
Table of Content Show

The Pittsburgh Steelers are a professional American football team that competes in the NFL as an American Football Conference (AFC) North division member. Based in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, the Steelers were established in 1933 as the Pittsburgh Pirates by Art Rooney. The team was renamed the Steelers in 1940 to better reflect the city’s identity as the center of the steel industry. The Steelers are the oldest franchise in the AFC.

They were one of the poor-performing teams in the NFL for a long time. However, it changed dramatically under the leadership of head coach Chuck Noll in the 1970s. The team’s drafting strategy, which brought in future Hall of Famers such as Terry Bradshaw, Franco Harris, and “Mean” Joe Greene, laid the foundation for what would become one of the most dominant teams in NFL history.

They won four Super Bowls in six seasons in the 1970s which established them as an NFL powerhouse.

Home Stadium

The Steelers have played in many stadiums as their home ground since their inception in 1933. Here’s a brief overview of the stadiums:

Forbes Field (1933-1963): After their establishment, the Steelers (then known as Pirates) started playing their home games at Forbes Field. They continued to play there until 1963. The stadium is located in the Oakland neighborhood of Pittsburgh.

Pitt Stadium (1958–1969): While they still played their home games at the Forbes Field, they used the Pitt Stadium for their selective home games. From the 1964 season through the 1969 season, the stadium hosted all of Steelers’ home games.

Three Rivers Stadium (1970–2000): From 1970 to 2000, the Three Rivers Stadium became the Steelers’ home. Located at the confluence of the Allegheny, Monongahela, and Ohio Rivers, it provided a central location for sports in Pittsburgh.

Heinz Field (2001–present): The Steelers have been playing at the Heinz Field as their home ground since the 2001 season. The stadium is located on the North Shore of Pittsburgh and has become synonymous with the modern era of Steelers football.

Super Bowl Wins

The Pittsburgh Steelers are one of the most decorated NFL teams in terms of the number of Super Bowl wins. They have won six Super Bowl trophies which equals them with the New England Patriots. Here’s a brief overview of their Super Bowl wins, including the outcomes and their opponents:

Super Bowl IX (January 12, 1975): The Steelers secured their first Super Bowl victory by defeating the Minnesota Vikings. The final score was 16-6, marking the beginning of a dynasty in the 1970s.

Super Bowl X (January 18, 1976): In their second consecutive Super Bowl appearance, the Steelers beat the Dallas Cowboys with a score of 21-17. This win further established their dominance in the NFL.

Super Bowl XIII (January 21, 1979): In a rematch against the Dallas Cowboys, the Steelers emerged victorious once again, with a final score of 35-31. This game is often remembered for its high level of play and the competitiveness of both teams.

Super Bowl XIV (January 20, 1980): The Steelers defeated the Los Angeles Rams with a score of 31-19, securing their fourth Super Bowl title in six years and cementing their legacy as one of the NFL’s greatest teams.

Super Bowl XL (February 5, 2006): After a long hiatus from Super Bowl victories, the Steelers won their fifth championship by defeating the Seattle Seahawks. The final score was 21-10, marking a triumphant return to glory for the franchise.

Super Bowl XLIII (February 1, 2009): The Steelers claimed their sixth Super Bowl title by narrowly defeating the Arizona Cardinals. The dramatic game ended with a score of 27-23, highlighted by a last-minute touchdown catch by Santonio Holmes.

Active Roster

Player # Position Height College
Montravius Adams
57 DT 6-4 Auburn

Kwon Alexander

54 LB 6-1 LSU

Spencer Anderson

74 OL 6-5 Maryland

Calvin Austin III

19 WR 5-9 Memphis

Luq Barcoo

35 CB 6-1 San Diego State

Kalon Barnes

DB 6-0 Baylor

Tyler Beach

OT 6-6 Wisconsin

Keeanu Benton

95 DL 6-4 Wisconsin

Chris Boswell

9 K 6-2 Rice

Miles Boykin

13 WR 6-4 Notre Dame

Marquez Callaway

WR 6-2 Tennessee

Mason Cole

61 OL 6-5 Michigan

Jack Colletto

45 FB 6-3 Oregon State

Dylan Cook

60 OT 6-6 Montana

James Daniels

78 OL 6-4 Iowa

Kellen Diesch

72 OT 6-7 Arizona State

Jalen Elliott

41 S 6-1 Notre Dame

Joey Fisher

79 G 6-4 Shepherd

Dez Fitzpatrick

82 WR 6-2 Louisville

Minkah Fitzpatrick

39 S 6-1 Alabama

Pat Freiermuth

88 TE 6-5 Penn State

Markus Golden

44 LB 6-2 Missouri

Alfonzo Graham

29 RB 5-9 Morgan State

Thomas Graham Jr.

DB 5-10 Oregon

Devery Hamilton

OT 6-6 Duke

Anderson Hardy

OT 6-6 Appalachian State

Keilahn Harris

WR 6-0 Oklahoma Baptist University

Najee Harris

22 RB 6-1 Alabama

Nate Herbig

71 G 6-4 Stanford

Nick Herbig

51 LB 6-2 Wisconsin

Cameron Heyward

97 DT 6-5 Ohio State

Connor Heyward

83 TE/FB 6-0 Michigan State

Alex Highsmith

56 LB 6-4 Charlotte

Cole Holcomb

55 LB 6-1 North Carolina

Godwin Igwebuike

48 RB 6-0 Northwestern

Diontae Johnson

18 WR 5-10 Toledo

Kyron Johnson

53 LB 6-0 Kansas

Broderick Jones

77 OT 6-5 Georgia

Damontae Kazee

23 S 5-11 San Diego State

Miles Killebrew

28 S 6-2 Southern Utah State

Christian Kuntz

46 LS 6-1 Duquesne

DeMarvin Leal

98 DE 6-4 Texas A&M

Isaiahh Loudermilk

92 DT 6-7 Wisconsin

Jonathan Marshall

91 DT 6-3 Arkansas

Blake Martinez

40 LB 6-2 Stanford

Ryan McCollum

62 C 6-5 Texas A&M

Nathan Meadors

33 S 5-9 UCLA

Denzel Mims

15 WR 6-3 Baylor

Dan Moore Jr.

65 OT 6-5 Texas A&M

Tyler Murray

LB 6-1 Memphis

Keanu Neal

31 S 6-0 Florida

Larry Ogunjobi

99 DT 6-3 Charlotte

David Perales

LB 6-3 Fresno State

Patrick Peterson

20 CB 6-1 LSU

George Pickens

14 WR 6-3 Georgia

Kenny Pickett

8 QB 6-3 Pittsburgh

James Pierre

42 CB 6-2 Florida Atlantic

Joey Porter Jr.

24 CB 6-2 Penn State

Elijah Riley

37 S 6-0 Army

Elandon Roberts

50 LB 6-1 Houston

Allen Robinson II

11 WR 6-2 Penn State

Mark Robinson

93 LB 5-11 Mississippi

Mason Rudolph

2 QB 6-5 Oklahoma State

Darius Rush

21 CB 6-2 South Carolina

Chapelle Russell

49 LB 6-1 Temple

Josiah Scott

DB 5-9 Michigan State

Isaac Seumalo

73 G 6-4 Oregon State

Aaron Shampklin

RB 5-10 Harvard

Jacob Slade

DT 6-4 Michigan State

Chandon Sullivan

34 CB 5-11 Georgia State

Trenton Thompson

17 S 6-1 San Diego State

Cory Trice Jr.

27 DB 6-3 Purdue

Mykal Walker

38 LB 6-3 Fresno State

Levi Wallace

29 CB 6-0 Alabama

Jaylen Warren

30 RB 5-8 Oklahoma State

Darnell Washington

80 TE 6-7 Georgia

T.J. Watt

90 LB 6-4 Wisconsin

Armon Watts

94 DT 6-5 Arkansas

Duece Watts

85 WR 6-1 Tulane

Rodney Williams

87 TE 6-4 Tennessee-Martin

Renell Wren

79 DT 6-5 Arizona State

The Pittsburgh Steelers Opponents for the 2024 Regular Season

The Pittsburgh Steelers are scheduled to play eight games at home and nine on the road in the 2024 regular NFL season. Their opponents for the season are:


Divisional Opponents

AFC Opponents

NFC Opponents


Divisional Opponents

  • Baltimore Ravens
  • Cincinnati Bengals
  • Cleveland Browns

AFC Opponents

  • Denver Broncos
  • Indianapolis Colts
  • Las Vegas Raiders

NFC Opponents

About Author: Ray

As a passionate writer and dedicated NFL enthusiast, Ray brings a wealth of knowledge and expertise to the world of football. With a focus on NFL players and WAGs, Ray dives deep into the stories, lives, and careers of these incredible athletes. With a keen eye for detail and a knack for storytelling, Ray captures the essence of the NFL world, exploring the lives of players, and their family members.