New York Giants – Background, Roster, and Schedule

By RayPublished on: January 30, 2024 Updated on: February 23, 2024
Table of Content Show

The New York Giants are a professional American football team. The Giants play in the National Football League (NFL) in the National Football Conference (NFC) East division. Headquartered at the Quest Diagnostics Training Center, the Giants plays its home games at MetLife Stadium at the Meadowlands Sports Complex.

The New York Giants are one of the oldest teams in the NFL, having joined the league in 1925. They have tasted some success in the league and have won multiple Super Bowls XXI, XXV, XLII, and XLVI.

Establishment and Early Success

The New York Giants were established on August 1, 1925, by Tim Mara, a New York businessman and promoter who invested $500. To differentiate themselves from the eponymous baseball team, the Giants opted for the name “New York Football Giants.”

After the 1930 NFL season, Mara transferred the ownership of the team to his two sons; Jack and Wellington Mara, to insulate the team from creditors.

Being one of the oldest NFL teams, the Giants have won many championships in the pre-Super Bowl era. Specifically, they won NFL titles in 1927, 1934, 1938, and 1956.

Stadium, Super Bowl, and Notable Players

The NY Giants originally played in the Polo Grounds and they are currently playing at MetLife Stadium. The Giants share their home stadium with the New York Jets.

Talking about their Super Bowl victories, the New York Giants have won four Super Bowls. Their first Super Bowl win came in the 1986 season while they won their second championship in the Super Bowl XXV (1990 season). After the turning of the 2000s, the Giants have won two Super Bowls XLII (2007 season), and XLVI (2011 season).

The Giants have featured several Hall of Fame players, including Lawrence Taylor, Frank Gifford, and Michael Strahan.

Active Roster

Player # Position Height College
Tyrod Taylor
2 QB 6-1 Virginia Tech

Justin Pugh

67 OL 6-5 Syracuse

Rakeem Nuñez-Roches

93 DL 6-2 Southern Mississippi

Mark Glowinski

64 G 6-4 West Virginia

Jihad Ward

55 OLB 6-5 Illinois

Sterling Shepard

3 WR 5-10 Oklahoma

A’Shawn Robinson

91 DL 6-4 Alabama

Casey Kreiter

59 LS 6-1 Iowa

Darren Waller

12 TE 6-6 Georgia Tech

Adoree’ Jackson

22 CB 5-11 USC

Matt Breida

31 RB 5-10 Georgia Southern

Saquon Barkley

26 RB 6-0 Penn State

Darius Slayton

86 WR 6-1 Auburn

Gunner Olszewski

80 WR 6-0 Bemidji State University

Bobby Okereke

58 ILB 6-2 Stanford

Dexter Lawrence II

97 DL 6-4 Clemson

Jamie Gillan

6 P 6-1 University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff

Parris Campbell

0 WR 6-1 Ohio State

Andrew Thomas

78 T 6-5 Georgia

Isaiah Simmons

19 S/ILB 6-4 Clemson

Matt Peart

74 T 6-7 Connecticut

Xavier McKinney

29 S 6-0 Alabama

Darnay Holmes

30 CB 5-10 UCLA

Sean Harlow

65 OL 6-4 Oregon State

Carter Coughlin

52 ILB 6-3 Minnesota

Cam Brown

47 ILB 6-5 Penn State

Ben Bredeson

68 G 6-5 Michigan

Azeez Ojulari

51 OLB 6-3 Georgia

Nick McCloud

44 CB 6-1 Notre Dame

Tyree Jackson

84 TE 6-7 Buffalo

Isaiah Hodgins

18 WR 6-3 Oregon State

Jacob Eason

9 QB 6-6 Washington

Boogie Basham

45 OLB 6-3 Wake Forest

Benton Whitley

48 LB 6-4 Holy Cross

Kayvon Thibodeaux

5 OLB 6-5 Oregon

Wan’Dale Robinson

17 WR 5-8 Kentucky

Marcus McKethan

60 OL 6-7 North Carolina

Micah McFadden

41 ILB 6-2 Indiana

Timmy Horne

96 DL 6-4 Kansas State

Cor’Dale Flott

28 CB 6-2 LSU

D.J. Davidson

98 DL 6-5 Arizona State

Dane Belton

24 S 6-1 Iowa

Daniel Bellinger

82 TE 6-6 San Diego State

Darrian Beavers

43 ILB 6-4 Cincinnati

Jashaun Corbin

35 RB 6-0 Florida State

John Michael Schmitz Jr.

61 C 6-4 Minnesota

Jordon Riley

95 DL 6-5 Oregon

Gervarrius Owens

39 S 6-0 Houston

Jalin Hyatt

13 WR 6-0 Tennessee

Tre Hawkins III

37 CB 6-3 Old Dominion

Eric Gray

20 RB 5-10 Oklahoma

Tommy DeVito

15 QB 6-2 Illinois

Deonte Banks

25 CB 6-2 Maryland

NY Giants Schedule for the 2024 Season

The schedule for the 2024 regular season games will be released officially by the NFL in the Spring of 2024. For now, the Giants’ opponents for the 2024 season are confirmed. The Opponents are listed below:


Divisional Opponents

NFC Opponents

  • New Orleans Saints
  • Tampa Bay Buccaneers
  • Minnesota Vikings

AFC Opponents

On Road

Divisional Opponents

  • Dallas Cowboys
  • Philadelphia Eagles
  • Washington Commanders

NFC Opponents

  • Seattle Seahawks
  • Atlanta Falcons
  • Carolina Panthers

AFC Opponents

About Author: Ray

As a passionate writer and dedicated NFL enthusiast, Ray brings a wealth of knowledge and expertise to the world of football. With a focus on NFL players and WAGs, Ray dives deep into the stories, lives, and careers of these incredible athletes. With a keen eye for detail and a knack for storytelling, Ray captures the essence of the NFL world, exploring the lives of players, and their family members.