Dallas Cowboys – History, Roster, and Schedule

By RayPublished on: January 29, 2024 Updated on: March 5, 2024
Table of Content Show

The Dallas Cowboys is a professional American football team based in Fort Worth, Dallas. The Cowboys compete in the National Football League (NFL) from the National Football Conference (NFC) East Division. Headquartered in Frisco, Texas, the Cowboys have been playing home games at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas since 2009.

The Cowboys joined the NFL as an expansion team in 1960. They were the first NFL team based in the southern United States. The Cowboys went winless in their first season in the NFL, however, they gradually improved under the leadership of head coach Tom Landry.

The Tom Landry Era

The Dallas Cowboys saw a significant success under the head coach Landry who served from 1960 to 1988. Under his leadership, the Cowboys became renowned for their strategic innovations, specifically, the use of the “flex defense” and the “shotgun formation” in the offense.

The team garnered widespread fame and they were known as “America’s Team” in the 1970s.

Championship Success

Talking about the Cowboys’ success in the NFL, they have won five Super Bowls viz. Super Bowls VI, XII, XXVII, XXVIII, and XXX. They won their first Super Bowl in the 1971 season, beating the Miami Dolphins.

The Cowboys were a dominant force throughout the 1970s where they played many Super Bowls and also won their second Super Bowl (Super Bowl XII) of the decade in 1977.

They couldn’t win any championship in the 1980s but enjoyed a resurgence in the ’90s under head coach Jimmy Johnson. The Cowboys went on to win three Super Bowls (XXVII, XXVIII, and XXX) in four years. Star players like Troy Aikman, Michael Irvin, and Emmitt Smith were in the team that won the championships.

Active Roster

Player # Position Height College
Tyron Smith
77 T 6-5 USC
21 CB 6-0 South Carolina

Bryan Anger

5 P 6-3 California

Johnathan Hankins

95 DT 6-2 Ohio State
70 G 6-4 Notre Dame

DeMarcus Lawrence

90 DE 6-3 Boise State

Brandin Cooks

3 WR 5-10 Oregon State

Dante Fowler Jr.

56 DE 6-3 Florida

Dak Prescott

4 QB 6-2 Mississippi State

Jayron Kearse

1 S 6-4 Clemson

Jourdan Lewis

2 CB 5-10 Michigan

Malik Hooker

28 S 6-2 Ohio State

Trent Sieg

44 LS 6-3 Colorado State
10 QB 6-3 Central Michigan

Michael Gallup

13 WR 6-1 Colorado State

Dorance Armstrong

92 DE 6-4 Kansas

Donovan Wilson

6 S 6-0 Texas A&M

Tony Pollard

20 RB 6-0 Memphis

Chuma Edoga

71 G 6-3 USC

Terence Steele

78 T 6-6 Texas Tech

CeeDee Lamb

88 WR 6-2 Oklahoma

Noah Igbinoghene

19 CB 5-11 Auburn

Neville Gallimore

96 DT 6-2 Oklahoma

Rico Dowdle

23 RB 6-0 South Carolina

Tyler Biadasz

63 C 6-3 Wisconsin

Nahshon Wright

25 CB 6-4 Oregon State
11 LB 6-3 Penn State

Osa Odighizuwa

97 DT 6-2 UCLA

Israel Mukuamu

24 S 6-4 South Carolina

Trey Lance

15 QB 6-4 North Dakota State

Chauncey Golston

99 DE 6-5 Iowa

Sam Williams

54 DE 6-4 Mississippi

Matt Waletzko

79 OT 6-8 North Dakota

KaVontae Turpin

9 WR 5-9 TCU

Jalen Tolbert

18 WR 6-1 South Alabama

Tyler Smith

73 OL 6-6 Tulsa

Peyton Hendershot

89 TE 6-4 Indiana

Jake Ferguson

87 TE 6-5 Wisconsin

Damone Clark

33 LB 6-3 LSU

DaRon Bland

26 CB 6-0 Fresno State

Markquese Bell

14 S 6-3 Florida A&M

Juanyeh Thomas

30 S 6-3 Georgia Tech

Brock Hoffman

67 C 6-4 Virginia Tech

Brandon Aubrey

17 K 6-3 Notre Dame

Tyrus Wheat

91 DE 6-2 Mississippi State

Mazi Smith

58 DT 6-3 Michigan

Eric Scott Jr.

37 CB 6-0 Southern Mississippi

Luke Schoonmaker

86 TE 6-5 Michigan

Asim Richards

76 OL 6-4 North Carolina

Hunter Luepke

40 RB 6-1 North Dakota State

Viliami Fehoko Jr.

93 DE 6-4 San Jose State

Jalen Brooks

83 WR 6-2 South Carolina

T.J. Bass

66 G 6-4 Oregon

Dallas Cowboys Schedule for the 2024 Season

The schedule for the 2024 regular season games will be released officially by the NFL in the Spring of 2024. For now, the Cowboys’ opponents for the 2024 season are confirmed. The Opponents are listed below:


Divisional Opponents

NFC Opponents

  • New Orleans Saints
  • Tampa Bay Buccaneers
  • Detroit Lions

AFC Opponents

On Road

Divisional Opponents

  • New York Giants
  • Philadelphia Eagles
  • Washington Commanders

NFC Opponents

AFC Opponents

About Author: Ray

As a passionate writer and dedicated NFL enthusiast, Ray brings a wealth of knowledge and expertise to the world of football. With a focus on NFL players and WAGs, Ray dives deep into the stories, lives, and careers of these incredible athletes. With a keen eye for detail and a knack for storytelling, Ray captures the essence of the NFL world, exploring the lives of players, and their family members.