Buffalo Bills – History, Background, Opponents & Schedule

By RayPublished on: February 13, 2024 Updated on: March 5, 2024
Table of Content Show

The Buffalo Bills are an American football team based in the Buffalo-Niagara Falls metropolitan area. The Bills are a part of the American Football Conference East division. The Bills were established in 1960 as an American Football League (AFL) member. They have been playing in the National Football League (NFL) since 1970 following the AFL and NFL. merger.

They have been playing its home games at Highmark Stadium in Orchard Park, New York since 1973. The team played at War Memorial Stadium from its inception in 1960 through 1972.

They have yet to win NFL championships, however, they were the AFL champions for two consecutive years i.e., 1964 and 1965. After the AFL-NFL merger, the Bills have reached the Super Bowl four times; from 1991 to 1993, and lost every time. As a matter of fact, the Bills hold the record for the most consecutive Super Bowl appearances; 4.

The Bills and the Minnesota Vikings are the only two NFL teams to make four Super Bowl appearances and not win a single.

Iconic Players Who Have Played for the Buffalo Bills

Several iconic players have been linked with the Bills over the years. Some of them are:

Jim Kelly

One of the most iconic players is Jim Kelly. Kelly as the quarterback led the Bills during its most successful period in the 1990s, when the team won four consecutive AFC championships. Kelly was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2002.

Bruce Smith

Defensive end, Smith is the NFL’s all-time leader in quarterback sacks. He was a critical component of the Bills’ formidable defense throughout the late ’80s and ’90s.

Smith started his NFL career with the Bills in 1985 and played there until the 1999 season. He played his last four seasons i.e., from 2000 to 2003 with the Washington Commanders (then Redskins). He was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2009.

Andre Reed

Reed was Jim Kelly’s favorite and most reliable wide receiver during the time the Bills dominated the NFL. His route-running, hands, and toughness after the catch were hallmarks of the Bills’ aerial attack.

Andre Reed was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2014.

O.J. Simpson

Before Simpson became notorious for the infamous murder case of his wife, Nicole Brown Simpson, he was one of the most electrifying running backs in NFL history.

As a Bill, Simpson became the first player to rush for over 2,000 yards in a single NFL season, achieving the feat in 1973. O.J. was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1985.

Active Roster

Player # Position Height College
17 QB 6-5 Wyoming

Kyle Allen

9 QB 6-3 Houston

Alec Anderson

70 T 6-5 UCLA

Tyler Bass

2 K 5-10 Georgia Southern

Ryan Bates

71 G/C 6-4 Penn State

Christian Benford

47 CB 6-1 Villanova

Terrel Bernard

43 LB 6-1 Baylor

Spencer Brown

79 T 6-8 Northern Iowa

James Cook

4 RB 5-11 Georgia

Gabe Davis

13 WR 6-2 UCF

Dion Dawkins

73 T 6-5 Temple
14 WR 6-0 Maryland

Tyrel Dodson

25 LB 6-0 Texas A&M

Rasul Douglas

31 CB 6-2 West Virginia

David Edwards

76 G 6-6 Wisconsin

Kaiir Elam

24 CB 6-1 Florida

A.J. Epenesa

57 DE 6-6 Iowa

Reid Ferguson

69 LS 6-2 Louisiana State
56 DE 6-3 Georgia

Poona Ford

98 DT 5-11 Texas

Reggie Gilliam

41 FB 6-0 Toledo

Damar Hamlin

3 S 6-0 Pittsburgh

Deonte Harty

11 WR 5-6 Assumption
23 S 6-0 Iowa

Dane Jackson

30 CB 5-11 Pitt

Taron Johnson

7 CB 5-11 Weber State

Ty Johnson

26 RB 5-10 Maryland

Kingsley Jonathan

59 DE 6-4 Syracuse

DaQuan Jones

92 DT 6-4 Penn State

Linval Joseph

93 DT 6-4 East Carolina

Dalton Kincaid

86 TE 6-4 Utah

Dawson Knox

88 TE 6-4 Mississippi

Shaq Lawson

90 DE 6-3 Clemson

Cam Lewis

39 CB 5-9 Buffalo

Sam Martin

8 P 6-1 Appalachian State

Tyler Matakevich

44 LB 6-1 Temple

Connor McGovern

66 G 6-5 Penn State

Von Miller

40 LB 6-3 Texas A&M

Quintin Morris

85 TE 6-2 Bowling Green

Mitch Morse

60 C 6-6 Missouri

Latavius Murray

28 RB 6-3 UCF

Siran Neal

33 CB 6-0 Jacksonville State

Ed Oliver

91 DT 6-1 Houston
21 S 6-0 Oregon State

Taylor Rapp

20 S 6-0 Washington

Greg Rousseau

50 DE 6-6 Miami

Tim Settle

99 DT 6-3 Virginia Tech

Khalil Shakir

10 WR 6-0 Boise State

Trent Sherfield

16 WR 6-1 Vanderbilt

Baylon Spector

54 LB 6-0 Clemson

O’Cyrus Torrence

64 G 6-5 Florida

Ryan Van Demark

74 T 6-6 Connecticut

Dorian Williams

42 LB 6-2 Tulane

Buffalo Bills Opponents for the 2024 NFL Season

The Buffalo Bills will play eight games at home and nine on the roads in the 2024 season. Their opponents for the 2024 season are:


Divisional Opponents

AFC Opponents

NFC Opponents


Divisional Opponents

  • Miami Dolphins
  • New England Patriots
  • New York Jets

AFC Opponents

NFC Opponents

  • Detroit Lions
  • Los Angeles Rams
  • Seattle Seahawks

About Author: Ray

As a passionate writer and dedicated NFL enthusiast, Ray brings a wealth of knowledge and expertise to the world of football. With a focus on NFL players and WAGs, Ray dives deep into the stories, lives, and careers of these incredible athletes. With a keen eye for detail and a knack for storytelling, Ray captures the essence of the NFL world, exploring the lives of players, and their family members.