Kansas City Chiefs – History, Background, and Schedule

By RayPublished on: February 9, 2024 Updated on: March 5, 2024
Table of Content Show

The Kansas City Chiefs are a professional American football team. Based in Kansas City, Missouri, the Chiefs are a member of the American Football Conference (AFC) West division in the National Football League (NFL).

The Chiefs were established in 1960 as Dallas Texans by businessman Lamar Hunt and was a member of the American Football League (AFL). The team was moved to Kansas City, Missouri in 1963 and renamed the Chiefs. The Chiefs joined the NFL as part of the AFL-NFL merger in 1970.

Chiefs Stadium

The Chiefs play their home games at Arrowhead Stadium based in Kansas City. The stadium has been the home of the Chiefs since its opening in 1972.

Before, the Chiefs played at Municipal Stadium after moving to Kansas City in 1963 and continued playing there until 1971. Likewise, the Cotton Bowl was the home stadium of the Chiefs when they used to play in Dallas as the Dallas Texans.

Championship Wins

The Kansas City Chiefs have won championships in both pre-Super Bowl and Super Bowl era. Their first championship came in 1962 when they were still the Dallas Texans.

After they became the Kansas City Chiefs, they won their first championship, the AFL championship in 1966. They won their third championship before the Super Bowl in 1969.

Their first Super Bowl victory came in Super Bowl IV in January 1970, when they defeated the Minnesota Vikings with a score of 23-7. It was the last Super Bowl before the NFL and AFL were merged.

The Chiefs couldn’t win the Vince Lombardi Trophy for 50 years after their first win. They ended the trophy drought in 2019, in the Super Bowl LVII defeating the San Francisco 49ers 31-20.

Their third Super Bowl victory came just three seasons later, in Super Bowl LVII in the 2022 season when they beat the Philadelphia Eagles. The Chiefs again defeated the 49ers in the Super Bowl LVIII to clinch their third Vince Lombardi trophy in five years.

Active Roster

Player # Position Height College
Blaine Gabbert
9 QB 6-5 Missouri

Travis Kelce

87 TE 6-5 Cincinnati

James Winchester

41 LS 6-3 Oklahoma

Donovan Smith

79 T 6-6 Penn State

Blake Bell

81 TE 6-6 Oklahoma

Joe Thuney

62 G 6-5 N.C. State

Chris Jones

95 DT 6-6 Mississippi State

Deon Bush

26 DB 6-0 Miami

Patrick Mahomes 

15 QB 6-2 Texas Tech

Harrison Butker

7 K 6-4 Georgia Tech

Justin Watson

84 WR 6-2 Pennsylvania

Marquez Valdes-Scantling

11 WR 6-4 University of South Florida

Justin Reid

20 S 6-1 Stanford

Richie James

17 WR 5-9 Middle Tennessee State

Drue Tranquill

23 LB 6-2 Notre Dame

Jawaan Taylor

74 T 6-5 Florida

Mecole Hardman

12 WR 5-10 Georgia

Mike Edwards

21 S 5-10 Kentucky

Nick Allegretti

73 G 6-4 Illinois

Tershawn Wharton

98 DT 6-1 Missouri S&T

Tommy Townsend

5 P 6-1 Florida

L’Jarius Sneed

38 CB 6-1 Louisiana Tech

Darius Harris

59 LB 6-2 Middle Tennessee State

Willie Gay

50 LB 6-1 Mississippi State

Clyde Edwards-Helaire

25 RB 5-7 LSU

Mike Danna

51 DE 6-2 Michigan

Kadarius Toney

19 WR 6-0 Florida

Trey Smith

65 G 6-6 Tennessee

Lucas Niang

77 T 6-6 TCU

Creed Humphrey

52 C 6-4 Oklahoma

Malik Herring

94 DE 6-3 Georgia

Noah Gray

83 TE 6-3 Duke

Nick Bolton

32 LB 5-11 Missouri

Joshua Williams

2 CB 6-3 Fayetteville State University

Jaylen Watson

35 CB 6-2 Washington State

Justyn Ross

8 WR 6-4 Clemson

La’Mical Perine

29 RB 5-11 Florida

Isiah Pacheco

10 RB 5-10 Rutgers

Skyy Moore

24 WR 5-10 Western Michigan

Trent McDuffie

22 CB 5-11 Washington

George Karlaftis

56 DE 6-4 Purdue

Neil Farrell

92 DE 6-4 LSU

Jack Cochrane

43 LB 6-3 South Dakota

Leo Chenal

54 LB 6-3 Wisconsin

Cole Christiansen

48 LB 6-1 Army

Mike Caliendo

66 OL 6-4 Western Michigan

BJ Thompson

53 DE 6-6 Stephen F. Austin

Rashee Rice

4 WR 6-1 SMU

Wanya Morris

64 OL 6-6 Oklahoma

Nic Jones

31 CB 6-0 Ball State

Chamarri Conner

27 DB 6-0 Virginia Tech

Ekow Boye-Doe

40 CB 6-0 Kansas State

Felix Anudike-Uzomah

97 DE 6-4 Kansas State

Kansas City Chiefs Opponents for the 2024 Season

The Kansas City Chiefs will play eight games at home and nine on the roads in the 2024 season. Their opponents for the regular 2024 season are:


Divisional Opponents

  • Denver Broncos
  • Las Vegas Raiders
  • Los Angeles Chargers

AFC Opponents

NFC Opponents

  • New Orleans Saints
  • Tampa Bay Buccaneers


Divisional Opponents

  • Denver Broncos
  • Las Vegas Raiders
  • Los Angeles Chargers

AFC Opponents

NFC Opponents

  • Atlanta Falcons
  • Carolina Panthers
  • San Francisco 49ers

About Author: Ray

As a passionate writer and dedicated NFL enthusiast, Ray brings a wealth of knowledge and expertise to the world of football. With a focus on NFL players and WAGs, Ray dives deep into the stories, lives, and careers of these incredible athletes. With a keen eye for detail and a knack for storytelling, Ray captures the essence of the NFL world, exploring the lives of players, and their family members.