Washington Commanders – Background, Roster, and Schedule

By RayPublished on: February 7, 2024 Updated on: February 21, 2024
Table of Content Show

The Washington Commanders are a professional American football team that competes as a member of the NFC East division in the National Football League (NFL). The Commanders were known as the Washington Redskins until the 2020 season. The team is based in the Washington metropolitan area.

The Commanders were established in 1932 as the Boston Braves, however, the team changed its name to the Redskins the following year. It relocated to Washington, D.C. in 1937.

Commanders’ Home Stadiums

The Commanders have played their home games at many stadiums over the years. In the first year, when the Commanders were located in Boston, they played at Braves Field (the home stadium of the Boston Braves baseball team).

From 1933 to 1936, the Commanders played at Fenway Park, another Baseball stadium in Boston. When the team moved to Washington, D.C. in 1937, the Commanders started playing their home games at Griffith Stadium, originally a baseball stadium that belonged to the Washington Senators.

The Commanders (then known as Redskins) played 24 seasons (until the 1960 season) at the stadium where they tasted some of the franchise’s early successes, including two NFL Championships in 1937 and 1942.

From 1961 to 1996, the Commanders played at Robert F. Kennedy Memorial Stadium, and from 1997 onwards, they have been playing at the FedExField (previously known as Jack Kent Cooke Stadium). The stadium is based in Landrover, Maryland.

Championship Wins

The Washington Commanders won two NFL Championships in the pre-Super Bowl era. They won their first championship in 1937, the season they moved to the US capital. They defeated the Chicago Bears 28-21 to claim their first title in the league.

The Commanders won their second championship in 1942, again defeating the Bears in the final with a score of 14-6.

Likewise, in the Super Bowl era, the Commanders have won three titles. They won their first Super Bowl in the 1982 season, beating the Miami Dolphins 27-17.

Their second Super Bowl victory came in the 1987 season when they defeated the Denver Broncos by 42-10. Lastly, their third Super Bowl win was against the Buffalo Bills in the 1991 season when they defeated the Bills by 37-24.

Active Roster

Player # Position Height College
5 P 6-1 Oklahoma

Logan Thomas

82 TE 6-6 Virginia Tech
51 LB 6-2 Texas State-San Marcos

Cornelius Lucas

78 T 6-8 Kansas State

Jamison Crowder

83 WR 5-9 Duke
12 QB 6-4 N.C. State
4 WR 5-11 Ohio State
93 DT 6-3 Alabama
71 G/T 6-6 Eastern Michigan

Trent Scott

73 T 6-5 Grambling State
3 WR 6-1 Kansas State
94 DT 6-3 Alabama

Nick Gates

63 C 6-5 Nebraska

Joey Slye

6 K 5-11 Virginia Tech

Terry McLaurin

17 WR 6-0 Ohio State

Cody Barton

57 LB 6-2 Utah

Alex Armah

40 RB 6-1 West Georgia

Casey Toohill

95 DE 6-5 Stanford

James Smith-Williams

96 DE 6-4 North Carolina State

Khaleke Hudson

47 LB 6-0 Michigan

Antonio Gibson

24 RB 6-2 Memphis

Kamren Curl

31 S 6-2 Arkansas

Saahdiq Charles

77 G/T 6-4 LSU

Terrell Burgess

32 S 5-11 Utah

Benjamin St-Juste

25 CB 6-3 Minnesota

Jake Fromm

11 QB 6-2 Georgia

Jabril Cox

41 LB 6-3 LSU

Sam Cosmi

76 T 6-6 Texas

Dyami Brown

2 WR 6-0 North Carolina

John Bates

87 TE 6-6 Boise State

Abdullah Anderson

92 DL 6-4 Bucknell

Cole Turner

85 TE 6-6 Nevada

Brian Robinson Jr.

8 RB 6-1 Alabama

John Ridgeway III

91 DT 6-5 Arkansas

Chris Paul

75 G 6-4 Tulsa

Phidarian Mathis

98 DT 6-4 Alabama

Sam Howell

14 QB 6-1 North Carolina

De’Jon Harris

45 LB 6-0 Arkansas

Jahan Dotson

1 WR 5-11 Penn State

Benning Potoa’e

79R DT 6-3 Washington

Julian Good-Jones

61 G 6-5 Iowa State

Alex Akingbulu

62 T 6-5 Fresno State

Tucker Addington

58 LS 6-2 Sam Houston State

Mitchell Tinsley

86 WR 6-1 Penn State

Joshua Pryor

59 DE 6-4 Bowie State

Quan Martin

20 DB 6-0 Illinois

Kyu Blu Kelly

36 CB 6-0 Stanford

Andre Jones Jr.

50 DE 6-5 Louisiana

KJ Henry

55 DE 6-4 Clemson

Jalen Harris

56 DE 6-4 Arizona

Emmanuel Forbes Jr.

13 CB 6-0 Mississippi State

Washington Commanders Opponents For the 2024 Season

The Commanders will play nine games at home and eight on the road in the 2024 NFL season. Here is a full list of Commanders’ home and away opponents for 2024:


Divisional Opponents

NFC Opponents

  • Atlanta Falcons
  • Carolina Panthers
  • Chicago Bears

AFC Opponents


Divisional Opponents

  • Dallas Cowboys
  • New York Giants
  • Philadelphia Eagles

NFC Opponents

  • New Orleans Saints
  • Tampa Bay Buccaneers
  • Arizona Cardinals

AFC Opponents

About Author: Ray

As a passionate writer and dedicated NFL enthusiast, Ray brings a wealth of knowledge and expertise to the world of football. With a focus on NFL players and WAGs, Ray dives deep into the stories, lives, and careers of these incredible athletes. With a keen eye for detail and a knack for storytelling, Ray captures the essence of the NFL world, exploring the lives of players, and their family members.